Official Name: Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia (CICA).

Date of establishment: the initiative to convene the Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia (CICA) was put forward by President Nursultan Nazarbayev at the 47th Session of the United Nations General Assembly on October 5, 1992.

Status: an intergovernmental forum for dialogue, consultations and adoption of decisions and measures on the basis of consensus on security issues in Asia, the observer at the UN General Assembly (December 2007).

The main objective and area of activity: enhancement of co-operation through elaborating multilateral approaches towards promoting peace, security and stability in Asia.

Member States: Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, Egypt, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Pakistan, Palestine, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Russia, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan and Vietnam (26 states).

Observers: Belarus, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Philippines, Ukraine, USA, Sri Lanka (8 states); United Nations, Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, League of Arab States, TurkPA (4 organizations).

Chairmanship-in-Office: People's Republic of China (May 2014-2018).

Structure and institutions of the CICA:

Policy making bodies:

1) Meeting of Heads of State and Government (Summit – the supreme authority, convening every 4 years),

2) Meeting of Foreign Ministers (Ministerial Meeting – the body convening every 4 years, 2 years after the Summit),

3) Senior Officials Committee (SOC – the structure, holding meetings no less than once a year).

Working bodies:

1) Special Working Groups (SWG),

2) Specialized Meetings of Experts (SME).

Executive body: International Secretariat in Astana, functioning since 2006. The CICA Executive Director - Ambassador Gong Jianwei (China), Deputy Executive Director - Ms. A.Bakytbekkyzy (Kazakhstan), professional staff from Member States.

The main meetings: the First Ministerial Meeting (1999), the First Summit (2002), the Second Ministerial Meeting (2004), the Second Summit (2006), the Third Ministerial Meeting (2008), the Third Summit (2010), the Fourth Ministerial Meeting (2012), the Fourth CICA Summit (2014), the Fifth Ministerial Meeting (2016).

Founding documents: Declaration on the Principles Guiding Relations among the CICA Member States (signed by the CICA Foreign Ministers in 1999), Almaty Act (signed by Heads of States and Governments of the CICA in 2002).

Basic documents: Catalogue of Confidence Building Measures, Rules of Procedure (adopted in 2004), Statute of the CICA Secretariat and its appendix – Financial rules (signed in 2006, ratified by Kazakhstan in February, 2007), Regulation on the CICA symbols, Cooperative approach for implementation of the CBMs, Guidelines for the CICA's External Relations (adopted in 2007), Host Country Agreement (signed in 2007, ratified by Kazakhstan in March, 2008), Protocol amending the Statute of the CICA Secretariat (signed in 2008), the Convention on the Priviliges and Immunities of the Secretariat, its personnel and representatives of Members of the CICA (signed in 2010, ratified by Kazakhstan in November, 2011).

Political declarations: Declaration on Eliminating Terrorism and Promoting Dialogue among Civilizations (2002), Declaration of the Second Ministerial Meeting (2004), Declaration of the Second Summit of Heads of States and Governments (2006), Declaration of the Third Ministerial Meeting (2008), Declaration of the Third Summit of Heads of States and Governments (2010), Declaration of the Forth Ministerial Meeting (2012), Declaration of the Fourth CICA Summit (2014), Declaration of the Fifth Ministerial Meeting (2016).

Official holiday: October 5 (the CICA Day).

Official language: English.

Working languages: English and Russian.

Official website of the CICA Secretariat:

Created at : 4.12.2013, 19:41, Updated at : 27.01.2017, 14:17