CSTO Foreign Ministers in Almaty Discuss Organization’s Upcoming Summit Chaired by Kazakhstan

ALMATY, June 11, 2018 – Within Kazakhstan's chairmanshipin the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO), Almaty hostedthe regular meeting of the CSTO Council of Foreign Ministers.

The event was attended by delegations of all CSTO Member States: Minister of Foreign Affairs of Armenia Zohrab Mnatsakanyan, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of Belarus Andrei Dapkiunas, Kazakh Minister of Foreign Affairs Kairat Abdrakhmanov, State Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Kyrgyz Republic Aibek Omokeev, Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov and Minister of Foreign Affairs of Tajikistan Sirojiddin Muhriddin, as well as CSTO Secretary General Yuri Khachaturov.

The participants exchanged views on the international agenda and the further development of foreign policy cooperation within the Organization.

As it was stated following the Councilmeeting, the participantsexchanged viewson the current state and prospects for the development of the situation in Afghanistan. The meeting confirmed the general position that the crisis in Syria could be resolved only through political and diplomatic means. In this regard, the role of the Astana Process in stabilizing the situation in Syria was particularly emphasized.

The sides expressed their hope that the upcoming talks between the leaders of the United States and the DPRK would be an important step in resolving issues related to the DPRK nuclear program, global disarmament and non-proliferation of weapons of mass destruction.

Furthermore, the agenda included the development and strengthening of cooperation between the CSTO and international agencies. It is symbolic that Kazakhstan's chairmanship in the CSTO coincided with its membership in the UN Security Council. Thus, Kazakhstan is working closely to align the agendas of the two organizations.

In his statement, Minister Abdrakhmanov noted that Kazakhstan's chairmanship focused on the implementation of the priorities put forward by President Nursultan Nazarbayev at the anniversarySummit in Minsk last November.

They include such relevant issues as the development and strengthening of military and military-technical cooperation, the Organization's involvement in creating an international counter-terrorism system, the development of joint approaches to counter cybersecurity threats, and specific measures to combat illicit drug trafficking.

Kazakhstan considers necessary to further enhance the cooperation of the CSTO with the CIS, CARICC, CICA, other international organizations and agencies. It is notable that most of the CSTO ministerial meeting participants arrived in Almaty from Qingdao that hosted the SCO Summit.

Another important area of cooperation with CSTO partners is the further implementation of the initiative of the President of Kazakhstan to develop a code of conduct to achieve a terrorism-free world, which is being actively promoted in the UN Security Council. The main objectives of this document are to create a broad international coalition of partner countries to counter terrorism and achieve a terrorism-free world by 2045.

The Council of Foreign Ministers paid special attention to the Organization'sfurther institutional strengthening. In particular, the draft Protocol onAmendments to the Agreement on the Legal Status of the CSTO was agreed upon.

During the meeting, the parties adopted a joint statement on the 30th anniversary of the entry into force of the Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces Treaty. “Kazakhstan, as a party to this historic treaty, confirms its full commitment to this document and calls on all parties to preserve it and strictly observe it,”Minister Abdrakhmanov said.

Overall, the CSTO ministerial meetingagreed on a number of practical documents, the most important of which will be submitted for consideration by the heads of state at the CSTO Summit in Astana this autumn, which will also be chaired by Kazakhstan.

Created at : 11.06.2018, 17:55, Updated at : 11.06.2018, 17:55

Главы МИД ОДКБ обсудили в Алматы вопросы предстоящего саммита Организации под казахстанским председательством

АЛМАТЫ, 11 июня 2018 года – В рамках председательства Республики Казахстан в Организации Договора о коллективной безопасности в Алматы состоялось очередное заседание Совета министров иностранных дел ОДКБ.

В мероприятии приняли участие делегации всех государств-членов ОДКБ – от Республики Армения - Министр иностранных дел Зограб Мнацаканян, от Республики Беларусь – заместитель министра иностранных дел Андрей Дапкюнас, от Республики Казахстан – Министр иностранных дел Кайрат Абдрахманов, от Кыргызской Республики – статс-секретарь МИД Айбек Омокеев, от Российской Федерации – Министр иностранных дел Сергей Лавров и от Республики Таджикистан – Министр иностранных дел Сироджиддин Мухриддин, а также Генеральный секретарь ОДКБ Юрий Хачатуров.

Они обменялись мнениями по международной повестке дня и дальнейшему развитию внешнеполитического сотрудничества в рамках Организации.

Как было заявлено по итогам заседания Совета, встреча позволила участникам сверить оценки по текущей ситуации и перспективам развития обстановки в Афганистане. В рамках заседания была подтверждена общая позиция о том, что кризис в Сирии может быть урегулирован только политико-дипломатическими мерами. В связи с этим, была особо подчеркнута роль Астанинского процесса в деле стабилизации обстановки в Сирии.

Стороны выразили надежду, что предстоящие переговоры лидеров США и КНДР станут важным шагом в решении вопросов, связанных с ядерной программой КНДР, разоружением и нераспространением в мире оружия массового уничтожения.

Кроме того, в повестке дня развитие и укрепление сотрудничества ОДКБ с международными структурами. Символично, что председательство Казахстана в ОДКБ совпало с членством нашей страны в Совете Безопасности ООН. Таким образом, Казахстан тесно работает над сближением повесток работы между двумя этими организациями.

В своем выступлении К. Абдрахманов отметил, что основное внимание казахстанское председательство уделяет реализации приоритетных направлений, выдвинутых Президентом Н.А.Назарбаевым на юбилейном Саммите в Минске в ноябре прошлого года.

В их числе такие актуальные вопросы, как развитие и укрепление военного и военно-технического сотрудничества, участие Организации в формировании международной системы глобального противодействия терроризму, разработка совместных подходов к противодействию угрозам в сфере кибербезопасности, а также выработка конкретных мер по борьбе с незаконным оборотом наркотиков.

Казахстан считает необходимым дальнейшее укрепление сотрудничества ОДКБ с СНГ, ЦАРИКЦ, СВМДА, другими международными организациями и структурами. Следует отметить, что большинство из участников сегодняшнего заседания СМИД ОДКБ приехали в Алматы из города Циндао, где состоялся Саммит ШОС.

Другим важным направлением взаимодействия с партнерами по ОДКБ является дальнейшая реализация инициативы Президента Казахстана по разработке Кодекса поведения по достижению мира, свободного от терроризма, которая активно продвигается в Совбезе ООН. Основные цели этого документа сводятся к созданию широкой международной коалиции стран-партнеров по контртерроризму и достижению к столетию ООН в 2045 году мира, свободного от терроризма.

Отдельное внимание Совета министров иностранных дел было уделено вопросам дальнейшего институционального укрепления Организации. В частности, был согласован проект Протокола о внесении изменений в Соглашение о правовом статусе ОДКБ.

В ходе встречи стороны приняли совместное заявление, посвященное 30-летию вступления в силу Договора о ликвидации ракет средней и малой дальности. «Казахстан, как сторона этого исторического договора, подтверждает свою полную приверженность данному документу и призывает все стороны к его сохранению и неукоснительному соблюдению», - сообщил К. Абдрахманов.

В целом, СМИД ОДКБ согласовал ряд практических документов, наиболее важные из которых будут вынесены на рассмотрение глав государств на предстоящем осенью текущего года в Астане Саммите ОДКБ, который также пройдет под председательством Казахстана.

Добавлено : 11.06.2018, 17:55, Изменено : 11.06.2018, 17:55