Kazakhstan has acquired observer status in the Pacific Alliance

LIMA, July 5-6, 2019 - Kazakhstan took part in the XIV Pacific Alliance Summit as an observer country, which takes place in the Peruvian capital Lima. The Kazakhstan delegation was headed by the Ambassador of Kazakhstan to Brazil and concurrently to Argentina and Chile, Kairat Sarzhanov.

In the margins of the summit, the Kazakh diplomat participated in the Ministerial round tables of the Pacific Alliance member countries with observer countries, where they discussed efficiency issues in the logistics chain, supporting small and medium-sized businesses, implementing the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development (UN SDG) to consolidate the strategic goals of the Pacific Alliance, as well as to adopt a Declaration on the Sustainable use of plastics by the trade union.

Speaking at the session, Ambassador Kairat Sarzhanov expressed his gratitude to the founders of the trade bloc for approving Kazakhstan's application to join the Pacific Alliance as an observer country and an invitation to take part in the organization's annual summit. The diplomat underlined that the leadership of Kazakhstan is firmly focused on finding new opportunities for establishing cooperation and maintaining mutually beneficial relations with partners in Latin America and expressed confidence that observer country status in this effective regional institute will allow our country to strengthen political dialogue, trade and economic cooperation, share experience and best practices, innovations and technologies in various fields. In order to give impetus to cooperation both unilaterally and multilaterally, the Kazakh diplomat called on the governments of the Pacific Alliance member countries to open a joint Embassy in the capital of Kazakhstan, Nur-Sultan. In addition, he announced that Kazakhstan supports the adoption of the Declaration on the Sustainable use of plastics, which fully corresponds to the country's obligations under its national waste management policy and the Basel Convention.

The application of Kazakhstan for joining the trade bloc was approved on May 10 of this year in Mexico City (Mexico) during the XXI Meeting of the Council of Ministers of the Pacific Alliance. Officially, the assignment of observer status to Kazakhstan was announced at the Summit on July 6 of this year and enshrined as a separate article in the Summit's final declaration.

Together with our Republic, the observer country status in the Pacific Alliance was also granted to Azerbaijan, Armenia and the Philippines.

Pacific Alliance – the subregional trade bloc, which marked its 8th anniversary this year, was created on April 28, 2011 at the initiative of Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru. The founding Summit of the economic bloc was held in Antofagasta, Chile, on June 6, 2012, where the Pacific Alliance Framework Agreement, signed by the Presidents of the founding countries, entered into force. The main goal of the organization is to promote economic integration, development and competitiveness of economies. From July 2018 to July 2019, Peru was the temporary Chairman of the Pacific Alliance. Following the Presidential summit, Chile assumed Pro Tempore Presidency in the organization for 2019-2020. With the accession of new states, the number of observer countries of the Pacific Alliance increased to 59 countries. Along with Kazakhstan and Armenia, member states of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), Belarus also has the observer status in this Latin American mechanism.

Created at : 5.07.2019, 19:00, Updated at : 5.07.2019, 19:00

Казахстан стал наблюдателем в Тихоокеанском альянсе

ЛИМА, 5-6 июля 2019 года – Казахстан принял участие в XIV саммите Тихоокеанского альянса в качестве страны-наблюдателя, который проходит в перуанской столице Лиме. Казахстанскую делегацию возглавил Посол Казахстана в Бразилии и по совместительству в Аргентине и Чили Кайрат Саржанов.

В рамках саммита казахстанский дипломат участвовал в министерской встрече в формате «круглого стола» стран-членов Тихоокеанского альянса со странами-наблюдателями, где были обсуждены вопросы эффективности в логистической цепочке, поддержки малого и среднего бизнеса, осуществления повестки дня в области устойчивого развития на период до 2030 года (ЦУР ООН) для консолидации стратегических целей Тихоокеанского альянса и принятия торговым объединением декларации по рациональному использованию пластмассы.

Выступив на заседании, Посол К. Саржанов выразил благодарность учредителям торгового блока за одобрение заявки Казахстана на присоединение к Тихоокеанскому альянсу в качестве страны-наблюдателя и приглашение принять участие в ежегодном саммите организации. Дипломат подчеркнул, что руководство Казахстана решительно нацелено на поиск новых возможностей для налаживания сотрудничества и поддержания взаимовыгодных связей с партнерами в Латинской Америке и выразил уверенность, что статус наблюдателя в этом эффективном региональном институте позволит нашей стране укрепить политический диалог и торгово-экономическое взаимодействие, обмениваться опытом и передовой практикой, инновациями и технологиями в различных областях. В целях придания импульса сотрудничеству как в одностороннем, так и многостороннем формате, казахстанский дипломат призвал правительства стран-членов Тихоокеанского альянса открыть совместное посольство в столице Казахстана – г.Нур-Султан. Кроме того, он анонсировал, что Казахстан поддерживает принятие декларации по рациональному использованию пластмассы, которая полностью корреспондируется с обязательствами страны в рамках ее национальной политики по управлению отходами и Базельской конвенции.

Заявка Казахстана на присоединение к торговому блоку была одобрена 10 мая т.г. в г.Мехико (Мексика) в ходе XXI заседания Совета министров Тихоокеанского альянса. Официально о присвоении Казахстану статуса наблюдателя озвучено в ходе встречи на высшем уровне 6 июля т.г. и закреплено отдельной статьей в итоговой декларации саммита.

Вместе с нашей республикой статус наблюдателя в Тихоокеанском альянсе также получили Азербайджан, Армения и Филиппины.

Субрегиональный торговый блок «Тихоокеанский альянс», отметивший в этом году свой 8-летний юбилей, был создан 28 апреля 2011 года по инициативе Чили, Колумбии, Мексики и Перу. Учредительный саммит экономического блока состоялся в г.Антофагаста, Чили, 6 июня 2012 года, где вступило в силу Рамочное соглашение Тихоокеанского альянса, подписанное Президентами стран-учредителей. Основной целью организации является содействие экономической интеграции, развитию и конкурентоспособности экономик. С июля 2018 года по июль 2019 года временным председателем Тихоокеанского альянса являлась Перу. По итогам Президентской встречи председательство в интеграционном объединении на 2019-2020 годы перешло Чили. С присоединением новых государств число стран-наблюдателей Тихоокеанского альянса увеличилось до 59 стран. Среди государств-участников Евразийского экономического сообщества (ЕАЭС) статус наблюдателя в этом латиноамериканском механизме, помимо Казахстана и Армении, также имеет Беларусь.

Добавлено : 5.07.2019, 19:00, Изменено : 5.07.2019, 19:00