Kazakhstan and Switzerland discuss cooperation in water management

          NUR-SULTAN, September 6, 2019 - Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Roman Vassilenko met with the Special Envoy of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation Guy Bonvin.

The parties discussed the results of the Second Central Asian Expert Forum, which was themed: “Dialogue on Water Issues in Central Asia: From National to Regional levels”, which took place on September 5-6, 2019, in Nur-Sultan, as well as issues of water cooperation in Central Asia.

Mr Bonvin noted the quality of the organization of the Forum and the constructive measures of the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan to address issues of joint water use in Central Asia.

In turn, Mr Vassilenko emphasized that the water sector occupies a special place on the agenda of Central Asian leaders, noting the initiatives of the First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan, Elbasy Nursultan Nazarbayev, which were announced in August 2018 during the Summit of the International Fund for Saving the Aral Sea in Turkmenbashi city.

Given the relevance of water issues, Mr Vassilenko noted that Kazakhstan has been actively collaborating with the European Union and other partners in this field and highlighted the positive effect of cooperation with the Swiss side in this process.

Mr. Bonvin assured that Switzerland is ready for further cooperation, mentioning the Swiss initiative “Blue Peace Central Asia” and joint projects with the Shu-Talas Water Commission.



Created at : 7.09.2019, 14:30, Updated at : 7.09.2019, 14:30

Казахстан и Швейцария обсудили вопросы сотрудничества в водохозяйственной сфере

НУР-СУЛТАН, 6 сентября 2019 года - Заместитель Министра иностранных дел Роман Василенко провел встречу со Специальным посланником Швейцарского агентства по развитию и сотрудничеству Гий Бонвэном.

Стороны обсудили итоги Второго Центральноазиатского экспертного форума на тему: «Диалог по водным вопросам в Центральной Азии: через национальное к общерегиональному», прошедшего 5-6 сентября 2019 г. Нур-Султан, а также вопросы водного сотрудничества в Центральной Азии. 

Г.Бонвэн отметил качество организации Форума и конструктивные меры Правительства РК по решению вопросов совместного водопользования в Центральной Азии.

В свою очередь, Р. Василенко подчеркнул, что водная сфера занимает особое место в повестке переговоров лидеров Центральной Азии, и проинформировал об инициативах Первого Президента РК – Елбасы Нурсултана Назарбаева, озвученных в августе 2018 года в ходе Саммита Международного фонда спасения Арала в Туркменбаши.

Учитывая актуальность водной тематики, Р. Василенко отметил, что Казахстан активно сотрудничает с Европейским Союзом и другими партнерами в данной сфере и отметил положительный эффект от сотрудничества со швейцарской стороной в этом процессе.

Г. Бонвэн заверил, что Швейцария готова к дальнейшему сотрудничеству и проинформировал о швейцарской инициативе «Blue Peace Central Asia» и совместных проектах с Шу-Таласской водохозяйственной комиссией.


Добавлено : 7.09.2019, 14:30, Изменено : 7.09.2019, 14:30