Cooperation between the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)

 

Kazakhstan became a member of ESCAP in July 31, 1992 and since has been working closely with the UN in various fields. In particular, Kazakhstan participates in programs of ESCAP on environment, natural resource management, investment cooperation and trade development. Kazakhstan is regularly represented at a high level during the annual session of ESCAP, which most often take place at the Headquarters of the Commission in Bangkok, and is co-author of a number of resolutions adopted at the sessions of the Commission.

The main stages of Kazakhstan's cooperation with ESCAP are:

The 7th Asia-Pacific International Trade Fair ASPAT-98 was held under the auspices of ESCAP in October 1998 in Almaty, which was first held in Central Asia.

Kazakhstan participates in the implementation of the ESCAP project "Land Transport Infrastructure Development in Asia" (ALTID).

Kazakhstan’s high-level delegation participated at the 60th anniversary session of ESCAP, which was held in 22-28 April, 2004 in Shanghai (China).

The 61st session of ESCAP was held in 16-18 May, 2005 in Bangkok, for the first time representative of the Republic of Kazakhstan - Kazakhstani Foreign Minister K.Tokayev was elected as the Chairman of the session of ESCAP.

The 62nd session of ESCAP was hosted in April 6-12, 2006 in Jakarta (Indonesia). The main theme of the session was: "Enhancing regional cooperation in infrastructure development, including cooperation in disaster management".

The 63rd session of ESCAP was held from May 17 to 23, 2007 in Almaty.

The 66th session of ESCAP was held from May 13 to 19 of, 2010 in Incheon (South Korea). The Kazakhstani delegation was lead by B.Sultanov, Assistant to the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan on Economic Affairs.

During the session the readiness of the opening of sub-regional office of ESCAP for North and Central Asia in Almaty was reiterated in order to serve as the further intensification of relations and coordination of efforts to achieve the Millennium Development Goals in Central Asia.

ESCAP Sub-regional Office covers ten countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan, as well as Afghanistan, as member country of the Special Programme for the Economies of Central Asia (SPECA).

At the 67th session of ESCAP, which was held in May 19-25, 2013 in Bangkok, corresponding draft resolution “Astana Initiative "Green Bridge": Euro-Asia-Pacific Partnership” was adopted.

In November 2013 SPECA Economic Forum, SPECA Governing Council meeting under the chairmanship of the Republic of Kazakhstan, as well as the Interstate Commission for Sustainable Development and the opening of the ECE/ESCAP joint office for SPECA in Almaty were held in Kazakhstan.

Kazakhstan’s delegation participated in the 69th session of the UN ESCAP (April 25 - May 1, 2013, Bangkok). During the session Kazakhstan’s resolution 69/9 “Implementation of the Green Bridge Partnership Programme towards voluntary follow-up to the Rio+20 outcome “The future we want” was adopted by consensus. The first meeting of partners in implementation of GBPP with participation of ESCAP and ECE was held on September 30, 2013 in Astana. At the moment the Charter on GBPP signed by 14 countries (Kazakhstan, Russia, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Germany, Bulgaria, Georgia, Belarus, Montenegro, Republic of Latvia, Finland, Hungary, Albania, Sweden).

On May 4, 2014 in Astana Executive Secretary of ESCAP Sh. Akhtar met with Prime Minister of the Republic of Kazakhstan K.Massimov, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan E.Idrissov and other members of the government during the 47th meeting of the Board of Governors of ADB. During the meetings parties discussed prospects of cooperation with ESCAP within the framework of Kazakhstan’s campaign for UN Security Council non-permanent member seat for 2017-2018, EXPO-2017 and the possibility to establish the Asia-Pacific Centre for renewable energy, under the auspices of ESCAP in Astana on the basis of the EXPO.

On September 4, 2014 in Samoa a side event dedicated to EXPO 2017 with the participation of Sh.Akhtar was organized within the framework of the International Conference on Small Island states under the auspices of the UN. Following the meeting of E.Idrissov, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan and Sh.Akhtar, Executive Secretary of the Commission Kazakhstan made a voluntary contribution to ESCAP for the development of biogas projects in 12 Pacific countries.

In the framework of the 71st session of the Commission 16 bilateral meetings with the heads of delegations of the Pacific countries were held. ESCAP resolution 71/9 «Strengthening cooperation on sustainable management of water resources in Asia and the Pacific» was adopted by the initiative of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Memorandum between the Ministry of Energy of the Republic of Kazakhstan and ESCAP on the joint implementation of the priorities in the field of sustainable development within Green Bridge Partnership Programme (GBPP) was signed on July 3, 2015 at the Commission’s headquarters in Bangkok.

Agreement between the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Secretariat of the UN ESCAP on the support of inclusive and sustainable development of the Pacific small island developing states (PSIDS) was signed on October 30, 2015 at the Commission’s Headquarters. Kazakhstan through ESCAP made contribution in the amount of 678 thousand USD within the project to 12 Pacific countries.

On February 6-8, 2016 during the visit to Central Asia Sh.Akhtar held meetings with Prime Minister of Kazakhstan K.Massimov, Minister of Foreign Affairs E.Idrissov, Akim of Almaty B.Baibek and Chairman of the National Bank D.Akishev. During the meetings the parties discussed issues of implementation of the UN Agenda 2030, the participation of the delegation of the Republic of Kazakhstan at the Asia-Pacific Forum on Sustainable Development (April 3-5, 2016, Bangkok) and the 72nd session of ESCAP (May 15-19, 2016). During the visit, the Executive Secretary of ESCAP delivered a lecture to an audience of the Nazarbayev University on the role of the Commission in the implementation of sustainable development goals in the region.

 

 

Created at : 4.12.2013, 14:47, Updated at : 25.03.2016, 19:23

Сотрудничество между Республикой Казахстан и Экономической и социальной комиссией ООН для Азии и Тихого океана ЭСКАТО

 

Казахстан стал членом ЭСКАТО 31 июля 1992 года и с тех пор тесно сотрудничает с Комиссией ООН в различных сферах. В частности, Казахстан участвует в программах ЭСКАТО по вопросам охраны окружающей среды, управления природными ресурсами, по вопросам инвестиционного сотрудничества и развития торговли. Казахстан регулярно представлен на высоком уровне в ходе ежегодных сессий ЭСКАТО, которые, чаще всего, проходят в Штаб-квартире Комиссии в г.Бангкоке, и является соавтором ряда резолюций, принятых на сессиях Комиссии.

Основными этапами сотрудничества Казахстана с ЭСКАТО являются:

В октябре 1998 г. в г.Алматы при содействии ЭСКАТО состоялась 7-ая Международная Азиатско-тихоокеанская торговая ярмарка АСПАТ-98, которая впервые проводилась в Центральной Азии.

Казахстан принимает участие в реализации проекта ЭСКАТО «Развитие наземной транспортной инфраструктуры в Азии» (АЛТИД).

22-28 апреля 2004 года в Шанхае (КНР) состоялась 60-я юбилейная сессия ЭСКАТО, в которой приняла участие казахстанская делегация высокого уровня.

16-18 мая 2005 года в г.Бангкоке прошла 61-ая сессия ЭСКАТО ООН, впервые Председателем сессии ЭСКАТО был избран представитель Республики Казахстан - Министр иностранных дел РК К.Токаев.

6-12 апреля 2006 г. в г.Джакарте (Индонезия) состоялась 62-ая сессия ЭСКАТО. Главной темой сессии была: «Активизация регионального сотрудничества в области развитии инфраструктуры, включая взаимодействие в борьбе со стихийными бедствиями».

В период с 17 по 23 мая 2007г. в Алматы состоялась 63-я сессия ЭСКАТО.

В период с 13 по 19 мая 2010 года в г. Инчеоне (Республика Корея) состоялась 66-я сессия ЭСКАТО. Казахстанскую делегацию на данном мероприятии возглавлял помощник Президента Республики Казахстан по экономическим вопросам Б.Султанов.

В ходе сессии подтвердилась готовность организации по открытию субрегионального офиса ЭСКАТО для Северной и Центральной Азии в Алматы, призванного служить дальнейшей интенсификации взаимоотношений и координации усилий по достижению Целей Развития Тысячелетия в Центральной Азии. С июня 2011 года данное отделение начало свою работу.

Субрегиональное Отделение ЭСКАТО охватывает десять государств: Азербайджан, Армению, Грузию, Казахстан, Кыргызстан, Российскую Федерацию, Таджикистан, Туркменистан и Узбекистан, а также Афганистан, как страну-участницу Специальной программы ООН для экономик Центральной Азии (СПЕКА).

На 67-й сессии ЭСКАТО, которая состоялась 19-25 мая 2013г. в Бангкоке, был принят соответствующий проект резолюции Астанинская Инициатива «Зеленый Мост»: Европейско-Азиатско-Тихоокеанское партнерство в целях реализации Зеленого Роста.

В ноябре 2013 года в Казахстане прошли Экономический форум СПЕКА, заседание Руководящего совета СПЕКА под председательством РК, а также Межгосударственная комиссия по устойчивому развитию (МКУР) и состоялось открытие совместного офиса ЕЭК/ЭСКАТО для СПЕКА в Алматы.

В ходе 69-й сессии ЭСКАТО ООН (25 апреля – 1 мая, 2013 г., Бангкок), в которой приняла участие казахстанская делегация была принята консенсусом резолюция РК 69/9 «Осуществление Программы партнерства “Зеленый мост” как дальнейшее добровольное выполнение рекомендаций итогового документа Рио+20 “Будущее, которого мы хотим”. Первая встреча партнеров по практической реализации ППЗМ с участием ЭСКАТО и ЕЭК состоялась 30 сентября 2013 года в Астане. В настоящее время Хартию по ППЗМ подписали 14 государств (Казахстан, Россия, Кыргызстан, Монголия, Германия, Болгария, Грузия, Беларусь, Черногория, Латвийская Республика, Финляндия, Венгрия, Албания, Швеция).

4 мая 2014 г. в рамках 47-го заседания Совета управляющих АБР в Астане состоялись встречи Исполнительного секретаря ЭСКАТО Ш.Ахтар с Премьер-министром РК К.Масимовым, Министром иностранных дел РК Е.Идрисовым и другими членами Кабинета министров, в ходе которых обсуждены перспективы сотрудничества с ЭСКАТО в рамках кампании РК по продвижению в непостоянные члены СБ ООН на 2017-2018 гг., ЭКСПО-2017 и возможность создания Азиатско-Тихоокеанского центра по возобновляемой энергии (ЦВЭ) под эгидой ЭСКАТО в Астане на базе ЭКСПО.

4 сентября 2014 года в Самоа в рамках международной конференции под эгидой ООН по малым островным государствам был организован сайд-ивент, посвященный ЭКСПО-2017 с участием Ш.Ахтар. По итогам встречи министра иностранных дел РК Е.Идрисова с Исполсеком Комиссии Казахстан внес добровольный взнос в ЭСКАТО для развития проекта по биогазу в 12 Тихоокеанских странах.

В рамках 71-й сессии Комиссии проведены 16 двусторонних встреч с главами делегаций тихоокеанских стран. По инициативе РК принята резолюция ЭСКАТО 71/9 «Укрепление сотрудничества в области водных ресурсов в АТР».

3 июля 2015 года в г.Бангкоке в штаб-квартире ЭСКАТО состоялось подписание меморандума между Министерством энергетики Республики Казахстан и Комиссией по совместному выполнению приоритетов в области устойчивого развития в рамках Программы партнерства «Зеленый мост» (ППЗМ).

30 октября 2015 года в штаб-квартире ЭСКАТО состоялось подписание Соглашения между МИД РК и Секретариатом Комиссии по поддержке инклюзивного и устойчивого развития малых островных развивающихся государств Тихоокеанского региона (PSIDS). В рамках проекта Казахстаном через ЭСКАТО выделена помощь в размере 678 тыс.долл.США 12-ти тихоокеанским странам.

6-8 февраля 2016 года в рамках визита Ш.Ахтар по Центральной Азии состоялись встречи с Премьер-министром РК К.Масимовым, министром иностранных дел Е.Идрисовым, акимом города Алматы Б.Байбеком и председателем Нацбанка Д.Акишевым. В ходе встреч были обсуждены вопросы выполнения Повестки дня ООН 2030, участие делегации РК в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском форуме по устойчивому развитию (3-5 апреля 2016 г., Бангкок) и 72-й сессии ЭСКАТО, посвященной региону ЦА (15-19 мая 2016 года). В ходе визита Исполнительный секретарь ЭСКАТО выступила с лекцией перед аудиторией Назарбаев Университета о роли Комиссии в осуществлении целей устойчивого развития в регионе.

 

 

Добавлено : 4.12.2013, 14:47, Изменено : 25.03.2016, 19:23