Foreign Ministry Discusses Preventive Diplomacy in Central Asia

NUR-SULTAN, September 4, 2019 - The Ministry of Foreign Affairs hosted a meeting between Foreign Minister Beibut Atamkulov and Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General for Central Asia - Head of the UN Regional Centre for Preventive Diplomacy for Central Asia Natalia Gherman.

During the meeting, the sides discussed regional cooperation in the areas of peace and security, counter-terrorism, water and energy interaction, and strengthening the potential of preventive diplomacy.

The Foreign Minister noted that Kazakhstan fully supports the activities of the Regional Centre. He informed the UN Representative about Kazakhstan’s regional and international initiatives in the field of sustainable development, aimed at ensuring peace and security.

Ms. Gherman praised Kazakhstan’s contribution to countering terrorism, in particular, the outcomes of the Zhusan humanitarian operation to repatriate Kazakh citizens from Syria, which resulted in the return of nearly 600 Kazakh citizens from the war zones. According to her, other Central Asian countries have already followed the example of Kazakhstan, having expressed interest in conducting similar operations.

The UN Representative outlined the new initiatives of the Regional Centre aimed at supporting the widespread participation of women and youth in preventing and resolving conflicts, peacebuilding and peacekeeping.

The sides paid special attention to discussing the sharing and protecting of transboundary water resources. The need to develop a multi-year Concept of Water Cooperation with Central Asian countries was noted.

The UN Regional Centre for Preventive Diplomacy in Central Asia was opened in Ashgabat on December 10, 2007 at the initiative of the Central Asian countries to strengthen the capacity of the countries of the region in the field of conflict prevention.


Created at : 4.09.2019, 22:00, Updated at : 4.09.2019, 22:00

В МИД обсудили вопросы превентивной дипломатии в Центральной Азии


НУР-СУЛТАН, 4 сентября 2019 года – В Министерстве иностранных дел состоялась встреча главы внешнеполитического ведомства Бейбута Атамкулова со Специальным представителем Генерального секретаря ООН по Центральной Азии - Главой Регионального центра ООН по превентивной дипломатии для Центральной Азии Натальей Герман.

В ходе встречи были обсуждены вопросы регионального сотрудничества в области мира и безопасности, противодействия терроризму, водно-энергетического сотрудничества, укрепления потенциала превентивной дипломатии.

Глава МИД отметил, что Казахстан всецело поддерживает деятельность Регионального центра. Ознакомил с казахстанскими региональными и международными инициативами в сфере устойчивого развития, обеспечения мира и безопасности.

Н. Герман высоко оценила вклад Казахстана в противодействие терроризму, в частности итоги гуманитарной операции «Жусан» по репатриации граждан РК из Сирии, в результате которой из зон боевых действий было вывезено почти 600 казахстанцев. По ее словам, за примером Казахстана уже последовали другие страны центрально-азиатского региона, выразившие заинтересованность в перенятии опыта проведения аналогичных операций.

Представитель ООН проинформировала о новых инициативах Регионального центра, направленных на поддержание широкого участия женщин и молодежи в процессах предотвращения и разрешения конфликтов, миростроительства и миротворчества.

Стороны уделили особое внимание обсуждению вопросов совместного использования и охраны трансграничных водных ресурсов. Была отмечена необходимость выработки совместной со странами ЦА многолетней Концепции водного сотрудничества.

Региональный центр ООН по превентивной дипломатии в Центральной Азии был открыт в г. Ашхабад 10 декабря 2007 года по инициативе стран Центральной Азии с целью необходимости укрепления потенциала стран региона в области предотвращения конфликтов.

Добавлено : 4.09.2019, 22:00, Изменено : 4.09.2019, 22:00